The onset of Noma disease is in itself a trauma, both for the child and his/her family, first of all because the vital diagnosis is involved.

The anxiety related to the deterioration of one’ s child’s state of health, the waiting and the deformity of the face are all moments to be faced.

A difficult integration

When the child has survived Noma, when his life is no longer in danger, he must take up a new major challenge: living with his face devoured by gangrene. Self-image, self-confidence, the gaze of others (children and adults) are all difficulties that children, young people and future adults must overcome.

The numerous surgical operations on the face allow, in the best of cases, a rehabilitation of respiratory functions, chewing functions and facial reconstruction. This care is heavy and patients go through many struggles involving physical and mental pain.

From the moment the child is no longer in danger, until he/she can have surgery, time must go: the child must grow up to reach the age of maximum jaw growth and the point where the body has produced enough tissue to allow transplants to be performed. In addition, there is a better response to the different reeducations in adolescence or early adulthood.

This is an extremely difficult time for the child: sometimes he cannot feed himself properly and needs extensive medical assistance. He has to wait several years before he can consider restorative care. One can only imagine the feelings of the child and his family during this waiting period: helplessness, injustice, anger, reorganization of daily life.

Societal “a priori” and lack of resources

Very often, Noma disease is experienced as a curse in certain populations where beliefs are strong. The child may then be stigmatized, excluded or rejected by those around him/her. The psychological consequences are devastating, not only during childhood but also during adolescence, when the construction of the person is in full evolution. The medical teams on site frequently observe psychological difficulties “post-Noma”.

The speech function is also often altered: the person with Noma cannot express himself as he wishes, at the cost of a significant amount of energy. His family circle, friendly and professional, does not understand him easily. Here again, daily gestures and communications are slowed down or even prevented.

Moreover, these countries, where poverty is rampant, are unfairly limited in terms of reception facilities, equipment and qualified medical staff, making care much slower than in the richest countries. However, a disciplinary approach is necessary: surgery, psychotherapy, motor rehabilitation, nursing care, general medical follow-up, speech therapy, rehabilitation services…

Thus, this multidisciplinary approach, which children sorely need after surviving Noma, cannot be satisfactorily implemented today due to a lack of resources. Despite the dedication of medical teams in the field today, the management of the 140,000 new patients cannot be complete; it is vital to recognize the first symptoms in at-risk populations.

These are the terrible conditions that Noma Fund is seeking to change, through the implementation of the project “Acting against Noma 2021-2030”.

Z

Make a donation

l

Sign the petition

Join Noma Fund

Noma Fund France

10, avenue George V
75008 Paris
FRANCE


Tél : +33 1 88 61 80 60
Mail : contact@noma-fund.org

Noma Fund Belgium

56, rue des Colonies
1000 Brussells
BELGIUM

Tél : +32 2 808 87 28
Mail : contact@noma-fund.org

Noma Fund Belgique

56, rue des Colonies
1000 Brussells
BELGIUM

Tél : +32 2 808 87 28
Mail : contact@noma-fund.org

Share This

La survenue de la maladie du Noma est en soi un traumatisme, aussi bien pour l’enfant que pour sa famille, d’abord parce que le diagnostic vital est engagé.

L’inquiétude liée à la dégradation de l’état de santé de son enfant, l’attente et la déformation du visage sont autant de moments auxquels il faut faire face.

Une intégration difficile

Lorsque l’enfant a survécu au Noma, lorsque sa vie n’est plus en danger, il doit relever un nouveau défi de taille : vivre avec son visage dévoré par la gangrène. L’image de soi, la confiance en soi, le regard des autres (des enfants et des adultes) sont autant de difficultés que l’enfant, l’adolescent et le futur adulte doivent dépasser. 

Les nombreuses interventions chirurgicales du visage permettent dans le meilleur des cas une réhabilitation des fonctions respiratoires, des fonctions de mastication et une reconstruction du visage. Ces soins sont lourds et les patients passent par de nombreuses épreuves teintées de douleurs physiques et morales. 

Entre le moment où l’enfant a survécu et le moment où il peut se faire opérer, le temps doit passer : l’enfant doit grandir afin d’atteindre l’âge de croissance maximale de la mâchoire et l’âge où le corps a produit assez de tissus pour permettre des greffes. De plus, on constate une meilleure réaction aux différentes rééducations à l’adolescence ou au début de l’âge adulte.

Ce temps pour l’enfant est extrêmement long : parfois, il ne peut se nourrir convenablement et a besoin d’une assistance médicale poussée, il doit attendre plusieurs années avant de pouvoir envisager des soins réparateurs. On ne peut qu’imaginer les ressentis de l’enfant et sa famille pendant cette attente : impuissance, injustice, colère, réorganisation de la vie quotidienne.

“A priori” sociétaux et manque de moyens

Bien souvent, la maladie du Noma est vécue comme une malédiction dans certaines populations où les croyances sont fortes. L’enfant peut alors être stigmatisé, exclu ou rejeté par l’entourage. Les conséquences psychologiques sont dévastatrices, non seulement au moment de l’enfance mais aussi à l’adolescence où la construction de la personne est en pleine évolution. Les équipes médicales sur place constatent fréquemment des difficultés psychologiques « post-Noma ». 

La fonction d’élocution est également souvent altérée : la personne atteinte par le Noma ne peut s’exprimer comme il le souhaite, au prix d’une dépense d’énergie importante. Son entourage familial, amical et professionnel, ne peut le comprendre rapidement. Là encore, les gestes et les communications du quotidien sont ralentis, voire empêchés. 

Plus encore, ces pays où la pauvreté fait rage, sont injustement limités en structures d’accueils, en matériels et en personnels médicaux qualifiés, rendant les soins beaucoup plus lents que dans les pays les plus riches. Pourtant, une approche disciplinaire est nécessaire : chirurgie, psychothérapie, rééducation motrice, soins infirmiers, suivis de médecine générale, orthophonie, services de réinsertion…

Ainsi, cette approche pluridisciplinaire dont les enfants ont cruellement besoin après avoir survécu à la maladie du Noma ne peut aujourd’hui se mettre en place de façon satisfaisante par manque de moyens. Malgré le dévouement d’équipes médicales aujourd’hui sur le terrain, la prise en charge des 140.000 nouveaux malades ne peut être complète ; un travail de reconnaissance des premiers symptômes auprès des populations à risque est vital. 

Ce sont ces terribles conditions que l’association Noma Fund tente de faire évoluer, par la mise en place du projet “Agir contre le Noma 2021-2030”.

Z

Je fais un don

l

Je signe la pétition

J'adhère à Noma Fund

Noma Fund France

10, avenue George V
75008 Paris
FRANCE


Tél : +33 1 88 61 80 60
Mail : contact@noma-fund.org

Noma Fund Belgique

56, rue des Colonies
1000 Bruxelles
BELGIQUE

Tél : +32 2 80 88 728
Mail : contact@noma-fund.org